Home > Raspberry Pi, Uncategorized > Raspberry Pi as a mail server

Raspberry Pi as a mail server

Having recently been married, I wanted to setup a more family oriented email address for my wife and I, and with an eye on the future, for the kids to use too.

After spending ages trying to find a decent domain name that a) made sense and b) wasn’t already taken, this morning I registered the-morrisons.com.

Having registered a domain name the next step was to find a mail provider, however my default go to was google who host my other mail domains, but google apps is no longer free, so I started researching other providers. Zoho are still free up to 5 users which might be OK, so I book marked them and moved onto the next challenged, finding a DNS provider.

It seems DNS services don’t come cheaply, and my usual provider, DynDNS wanted 30 bucks a year! So I go to thinking…..

I had a domain name and just needed …
DNS services
SMTP/POP3/IMAP services
Spam filters
Antivirus services

I looked over at my £30 raspberry Pi that sat under the TV, nonchalantly running a media service… I wonder…

If I added DynDNS to the list so that I could point my domain name to my RPi, then I could use Bind, Postfix, ClamAV and SpamAssassin all for free. In effect running the whole mail server on one little tiny low power box.

So let the project begin!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

